5 Points Player of the Year awards presented to Cosmos for 2015


Award winners Jimmy Maurer and Sebastian Guenzatti (Photo Credit: Eytan Calderon)

On Thursday evening, the 5 Points held a ceremony to present their annual Player of the Year award and their newly-created Young Player of the Year award.

Begun in 2013 as the Borough Boys Player of the Year award, the 5 Points have made this award their own as a complete section. Previous recipients include Marcos Senna (2013) and Danny Szetela (2014).

This year’s honoree was goalkeeper Jimmy Maurer. Maurer had a banner year in 2015, permitting only 26 goals in his 28 appearances, for a 0.93 GAA. He posted 68 saves, making 12 shutouts in a season where he went 14-3-11. The section will also always remember his triumphant stand against NYCFC, stopping numerous penalty kicks en route to a victory.

The 5 Points also held their first Young Player of the Year award, presenting it to winger Sebastian Guenzatti. Seba made 23 appearances last year, starting 10 and scoring 4 goals.

In addition, new signings Garbriel Farfan, Michael Lahoud, Yohandry Orozco, Juan Arango, David Ochieng, and Jairo Arrieta were in attendance for the party hosted by the club. A great time was had by all!

Check out some of TICC member Eytan Calderon’s photos below and see the rest in our SmugMug gallery.


Michael Lahoud (Photo Credit: Eytan Calderon)


Maurer and Guenzatti with TICC photographer Eytan Calderon


Guenzatti with his 5 Points Young Player of the Year Award (Photo Credit: Eytan Calderon)


Maurer (Photo Credit: Eytan Calderon)


Lahoud signs autographs for the supporters (Photo Credit: Eytan Calderon)


(L-R, top and bottom) Arango, Maurer, Cheche, Farfan, Arrieta, Orozco, Guenzatti, Lahoud


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *