NASL names all 2016 award winners

nasl-logo2With only one match left to play, the NASL has named the winners of every award minus, of course, the Soccer Bowl itself. But all other awards for regular-season performances have been issued with the NASL Championship Finalists claiming three of them.

NASL Golden Ball (MVP) – Juan Arango claimed this award, the first time for a Modern Era Cosmos after a season where he came finished second in the league in both goals and assists.

NASL Coach of the Year – Tim Hankinson claimed this one after leading the Indy Eleven to a Spring title and a spot in the NASL Final.

NASL Golden Boot – No debate on this one as Minnesota United’s Christian Ramirez snapped it up after finishing the season with a league-leading 18 goals, finishing his NASL career with 50 goals.

NASL Golden Glove – There was no question by the end of the year on this award went to Matt Van Oekel. The FC Edmonton goalkeeper posted a .55 GAA and 16 shutouts, allowing only 16 goals in his 29 starts.

NASL Young Player of the Year – This award also went to an FC Edmonton player. Papé Diakité made 26 starts and played 2,313 minutes, finishing third in interceptions (86) and clearances (134).

NASL Goal of the Year – Indy’s Duke Lacroix picked up this honor scoring the opening goal in a win over the Tampa Bay Rowdies.

NASL Humanitarian of the Year – The involvement of Miami FC’s Mike Lahoud with the Schools for Salone program has earned him the title of Humanitarian of the Year. The program exists to support the children of Sierra Leone.

NASL Fair Play Award – Given to the team with the cleanest disciplinary record, the RailHawks earned this by picking up 45 yellows, one straight red and three overall, and 339 fouls in 32 games.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *